apartment is located within a large converted brick and
stone farmhouse whose structure, both variegated and complex,
clearly shows a number of additions and enlargements made
in the course of the centuries. The farmhouse was originally
built in the late 17th century in a typically rational and
practical Leopoldine style.
A sandstone boundary stone (now placed at the bottom of
the staircase to the loggia) found during restoration work
carried out on the farmhouse and carrying the date 1671
testifies to the building’s antiquity and lets us
suppose the building was actually built in even remoter
times as we take into account the roman origin of the village
of Centoia (from latin Centuria, a roman encampment, later
to become Censorio in the high middle-ages) and frequent
finds such as brick and terracotta shards made in the surroundings
and bearing witness to the presence in the area of a late
The building is divided into two large apartments, La loggia, that may accomodate up to 7 people, Gli Archi that may accommodate up to 6 people and other rooms reserved for the reception of the farmhouse guests. A further 2 person apartment Il Giogo was converted from part of the owner’s house. The farmhouse features large and shady lawns equipped with gazebos, table-tennis table, a 6x12 mt swimming-pool, a wood-burning oven and a barbecue bearing testimony to the love and respect of the owners for gardening and nature more in general.
The location, though very close to the village of Centoia
and the most important roads, ensures absolute privacy and
allows guests to have a nice and relaxing time in a virtually
stress-free oasis immersed in the verdant tuscan countryside
amongst olive groves, vineyards and tilled fields.